Dept of Chemistry

The Department of Chemistry is one of the oldest departments in the College with the tradition of high quality teaching, providing scientific knowledge for the benefit of science and society. The Department of Chemistry was one among the independent departments launched when the College started in 1981. Chemistry’s natural synergy with other sciences such zoology, physics, botany etc. leads our Faculty and students into fruitful exchanges across disciplines and across campus. The Department of Chemistry is committed to foster a respectful workplace culture. The first BSc.chemistry degree was sanctioned to the College in the academic year 2015-2016. The renovated laboratory of the department started functioning from this academic year onwards. Presently, the department provides B.Sc.Chemistry (major) and B.Sc.Chemistry (Complementary) to Physics & Zoology, meeting undergraduate education requirements of the University of Kerala. There are currently five Faculty members in the department of Chemistry. Of these, 3 are permanent Faculties and 2 are Guest Faculties. They include 3 women Faculties also. There are 108 students for B.Sc.Chemistry (major) & 75 % of the students are girl students. Our distinguished Faculty and Alumni include the present Principal of the college, Dr. Mini N Rajan and former Principal-in-charge of the College.


M.Sc. B.Ed. Ph.D.