BJM GOVERNMENTCOLLEGE CHAVARA

DEBATE CLUB

(Coordinator- Dimple M. Scaria, Assistant Professor of English)

Activity report for the academic year 2019-20

The report brings information about the activities undertaken by the debate club of the college during the current academic year. There are 24 students from various departments enrolled in the club. The debate club has successfully arranged and organized some elocution/debate competitions for its members. The following are the major programmes undertaken by the debate club:

I Co-operative Society (Karunagappally circle union) Elocution competition

After preliminary screening rounds the debate club selected Safir T. (II DC Chemistry) for the competition. Safir T. was placed first both in the Taluk level and District level competition held on 17/10/19 and 20/10/19 respectively. He got selected to the State level elocution competition of the Co-operative society.

II Nehru Yuvakendra Declamation Contest

The debate club selected kumara Gowri Krishna to participate in the district level Declamation contest on "Patriotism and Nation building" held at S.N. College for Women, Kollam on18 October 2019.

III A.D Shroff Memorial Elocution Competition

A.D. Shroff Memorial Trust (The Forum of Free Enterprises) has chosen BJM Govt. College to organize A.D.Shroff Memorial Elocution competition. Accordingly the debate club organized the competition on 25/10/2019. The topics were:

- i. Quest towards inclusive growth in India
- ii. Health for all: Reforming National Health Policy
- iii. Role of a model citizen in Indian democracy

Prize money of Rs.5000 sponsored by A.D.Shroff Memorial Trust was distributed among the winners (Swathy B.S, Vaishnavi S. and Reshma Dathan).

IV Science Day Debate Competition

The debate club in association with the Department of Chemistry conducted a debate competition on 12 February 2020 as part of the Science Day celebrations. The topic for debate was 'Do women have limitations in pursuing Science?'. Safir T. (II DC Chemistry) and Arjun Priyakumar (I DC Physics) were the winners.

The debate club is planning to enhance its activities in the next academic year onwards by providing its members more exposure to various debate programmes of NSDA(National Speech & Debate Association) and BBC.